July 17, 2006—At the Group of Eight economic summit, which ended today in St. Petersburg, leaders from Russia, France, the UK, Germany, Italy, the U.S., Canada and Japan declared their commitment to providing universal HIV treatment by 2010.  They also supported a Russian proposal to start an Eastern European HIV research center focusing on developing a vaccine.