Advertisement

Hockey Night in Canada


Two Writers… One title. Decades apart, and unbeknownst to each other, writers Berend McKenzie and Francisco Ibanez Carrasco both wrote very beautiful—and very different—short stories about community, connection, and HIV set in Vancouver in the late 20th century, with the same unique title: Hockey Night in Canada.

For the first time, the two writers will come together for World AIDS Day to share their short stories, and talk with each other and an audience about living and creating with community, history, and HIV. Along the way they will also answer the question: What does hockey have to do with HIV anyway?

Berend´s story is part of the collection Between Certain Death and a Possible Future: Queer Writing on Growing Up with the AIDS Crisis. Francisco´s story appeared in the underground publication, Diseased Pariah News (issue 11).

Friday, December 3, 2021
4 PM PST / 5 PM MST / 6 PM CST / 7 PM EST

Online, Free (registration on this page required for Zoom link)

Presented by the Bureau of General Services—Queer Division and What Would an HIV Doula Do?

When
December 03, 2021
Global
Venue
Virtual
Link

Advertisement

Hot topics