The HIV Medicine Association (HIVMA), a group of nearly 5,000 physicians, scientists and health care professionals working in the HIV field, elected seven new members to its board of directors and named Melanie Thompson, MD, as its new chair, according to an HIVMA press release.

“The new members will bring a diversity of experience and perspectives to the Board,” said incoming board chair Thompson, who is also the founder and principal investigator of the AIDS Research Consortium of Atlanta. “To a person they are passionate about improving HIV prevention and care delivery and committed to advancing the science and advocacy that will get us closer to ending the HIV epidemic. I look forward to working with them.”

The seven elected board members are:

  • Demetre Daskalakis, MD, MPH, of the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

  • Judith Feinberg, MD, of West Virginia University’s School of Medicine; she was also selected as vice chair of the HIVMA.

  • Marwan S. Haddad, MD, MPH, of the Center for Key Populations Community Health Center Inc. in New Haven, Connecticut.

  • Colleen F. Kelley, MD, MPH, of the Emory University School of Medicine Division of Infectious Diseases in Atlanta.

  • Lynsay MacLaren, MPH, MPAS, PA-C, of Whitman-Walker Health in Washington, DC.

  • Igho Ofotokun, MD, FIDSA, of Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta; he is also a representative for the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) board of directors.

  • Alice C. Thornton, MD, FIDSA, of the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in Lexington.

According to the press release, six other HIVMA board members will continue to serve. They are: Michelle S. Cespedes, MD, MS; Michelle Collins-Ogle, MD; Donna Futterman, MD; James M. Sosman, MD; William Towner, MD, FIDSA; and Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH, FIDSA.